Early recordings by Duane and Gregg Allman being reissued on CD and vinyl in March

Four albums featuring the late Duane and Gregg Allman recorded before the formation of The Allman Brothers Band will be released on CD for the first time ever on March 27, and reissued on vinyl for the first time in decades.

The first disc is a compilation of studio recordings by siblings Duane and Gregg’s band Allman Joys that was made in 1966 and originally released in 1973.

The second and third releases are the two albums Duane and Gregg recorded with their next group, Hour Glass — the band’s 1967 self-titled debut and 1968’s Power of Love.

The fourth release is a collection of demos that the Allmans recorded in 1968 with a band called The 31st of February, that featured future Allman Brothers drummer Butch Trucks, as well as singer/guitarist Scott Boyer and bassist David Brown. These recordings, which included an early version of the Allman Brothers classic “Melissa,” were first released under the title Duane & Greg Allman in 1972.

All four albums can be pre-ordered now at MerchMountain.com.

Here’s the track list for Allman Joys’ Early Allman — Featuring Duane and Gregg Allman:

“Gotta Get Away”
“Oh John”
“Street Singer”
“You’ll Learn Someday”
“Old Man River”
“Bell Bottom Britches”
“Stalling for Time”
“Doctor Fone Bone”
“Changing of the Guard”
“The Forest for the Trees”
“Northern Boundary”

Here’s the track list for the Hour Glass album:

“Out of the Night”
“Nothing but Tears”
“Love Makes the World Go ‘Round”
“Cast Off All My Fears”
“I’ve Been Trying”
“No Easy Way Down”
“So Much Love”
“Got to Get Away”

Here’s the track list of Hour Glass’ Power of Love album:

“Power of Love”
“Changing of the Guard”
“To Things Before”
“I’m Not Afraid”
“I Can Stand Alone”
“Down in Texas”
“I Still Want Your Love”
“Home for the Summer”
“I’m Hanging Up My Heart for You”
“Going Nowhere”
“Norwegian Wood (This Bird Has Flown)”
“Now Is the Time”

And here’s the track list of the Duane & Gregg Allman album:

“Morning Dew”
“God Rest His Soul”
“Nobody Knows You When You’re Down and Out”
“Come Down and Get Me”
“I’ll Change for You”
“Back Down Home with You”
“Well I Know Too Well”
“In the Morning When I’m Real”

Copyright © 2020, ABC Audio. All rights reserved.

Share this Story: