Kenny Loggins, Michael McDonald to perform at online Earth Day festival streaming live today

Kenny Loggins and Michael McDonald are among the artists who’ll be performing today as part of the #TogetherWeEarthrise Earth Day Live Festival, a live-streamed event presented by Santa Barbara, California’s Community Environmental Council.

The free online festival, which celebrates the 50th anniversary of Earth Day, starts at 3 p.m. ET/12 p.m. PT, and will be viewable at SBEearthDay.org.

The event’s lineup also features a number of celebrity speakers, including Vice President Al Gore, Jeff Bridges and Julia Louis-Dreyfus.

“For 30 years I have said the environmental movement isn’t really a political issue, it’s a spiritual one,” says Loggins in a statement. “So far, mankind has lacked the consciousness to see that we’re all connected to the earth. What we do to her, we do to ourselves.”

Kenny reports that his performance will include a rendition of his 1991 song “Conviction of the Heart” that will feature “a dozen local teens” joining him and the core members of his backing band to sing the chorus.

“It’s their world they’re inheriting, and I hope that seeing their faces will bring that point home more succinctly,” he adds.

#TogetherWeEarthrise Earth Day Live Festival will be rebroadcast tonight at 10 p.m. ET/7 p.m. PT.

Copyright © 2020, ABC Audio. All rights reserved.

Share this Story: