United Way Breaks Record with Annual Campaign

HASTINGS – United Way of South Central Nebraska is proud to announce the results of the 2021  Campaign. $584,199 was raised to support more than 40 crucial health and human service organizations in  Adams, Clay, Nuckolls and Webster counties, far exceeding the campaign goal of $550,000.  

“We are so humbled by the continued generosity of this area,” said David and Brandee Schram, Campaign  Chairs. “Businesses, employees and private donors continued to step up and give to help others in need, even  in such uncertain, hard times. We thank you all very much for the successful campaign this year. You all have  proven that there is nothing we can’t do or overcome when we Live United together.” 

“When we launched this campaign last fall, we had no idea what the outcome would be,” said Jodi Graves,  Executive Director of United Way of South Central Nebraska. “So many people had a rough year that we just  weren’t sure how this would turn out, but so many people recognized the need, and stepped up. We are so  incredibly thankful to live in an area that is so generous. We truly want to thank everyone that supported the 2021 campaign.” 

In addition to the 2021 Campaign results, United Way of South Central Nebraska is honored to present their  Annual Awards to the following people: 

Inez C. Peterson Citizenship Award – Mark Callahan, Mary Lanning Healthcare 

Impact Award – Hastings Community Foundation 

Community Partnership Award – KHAS Radio 

Spirit Award – Apple Roofing and Hastings Ford Lincoln 

Volunteer of the Year Award – Covid Community Response Fund Committee members: Mark Funkey,  Jessica McAndrew, Doug Ourada, Dan Peters, Mikki Shafer and Andy Springer 

Honorary Council Inductee – Susan Meeske 

Outgoing President – Eric Arneson 

2021 Campaign Chairs – Drs. David and Brandee Schram 

United Way of South Central Nebraska recently approved the 2021 Slate of Officers. President – Mark Funkey,  CCC; Vice-President – Doug Ourada, Eaton Corporation; Jeff Schneider – Treasurer. In addition, the following  were approved for the United Way Board of Directors – Cameron Brei, Principal Financial; Darin Chaon, CPI;  Kim Graviette, Hastings College.

Share this Story: